Starpery.com

eyelashes

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
captain43

eyelashes

Post by captain43 »

I'm sure my doll isn't the only one whose eyelashes are coming off, only on her left eye, actually. Any suggestions on how to reapply them? I'm new to doll ownership, and want to keep her in tip-top shape. She's a head 4, if it makes any difference. I'm just clueless when it comes to this sort of thing. [img]modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_confused.gif[/img]

Ikyoto

eyelashes

Post by Ikyoto »

I replaced the lashes on my doll completely and will do so with the recast. I like a lighter looking lash.

The process is NOT for those with jittery hands and you really need to be ready to do so.

1: remove the old lash. This can be done by gently pulling on them, but make sure you get the whole thing. Working with a swivel mounted magnifying glass is a good idea.

2: clean the area with rubbing alcohol. Be sure to keep a fan going.

3: if the old lash adheasive area has a lot of "burrs" trim them SLIGHTLY. they actually help seat the new lashes.

4: use a toothpick to place the new lash and a VERY fine brush.

5: the adheasive should be a silicone that is thinned out with lighter fluid OR a thin mix of the colored silicone from a repair kit. THIS IS THE MOST ADVISABLE.

6: Push the lash into place and use a second toothpick to place a bit of silicone along the lash base. you are esentially gluing it to the eyelid.

7: BE PATIENT. This is not easy to do for first timers. If you can find someone who does mineratures they can teach you fine brush work.

8: you have to let the silicone set for a few minutes before you can move. Do NOT just pull the toothpick away. Twist it very gently back and forth to loosen it first. and do not pull direcly away. Pull at a slight angle to reduce stickiness to the wood.

9: be ready to push back the eyelash while it's setting. it can take a while before it does not try to pull away.

captain43

eyelashes