Starpery.com

TPE Welding Problem

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
newdollie

TPE Welding Problem

Post by newdollie »

Hello all,

The nether region of my doll tore and I want to repair it. I had no luck with TPE glue and paste at all, so I resorted to welding it with a soldering iron.
After a few attempts, the welding is always imperfect because no matter how slow I go, I always end up with gaps ("bubbles", but more like the material did not bond internally) between the new TPE when you pull it apart. So instead of getting a solid chunk of welded TPE, I get a squishy porous weld.

Additionally, the new TPE weld does not feel solid at all, but this soft squishy mass. Any suggestions or ideas as to what I am doing wrong?

Thank you for the feedback.

ZannyDanger
Doll Elder
Doll Elder

Re: TPE Welding Problem

Post by ZannyDanger »

I'm no repair pro by any means, but from my experience if your tpe makes bubbles and is left porous when it cools down it usually means the temperature was set too high or that it wasn't properly cleaned prior to attempting the weld. Try using a lower temperature closer to 160°C and it should retain more of it's structural integrity.

However, if attempting to weld two halves together, such as in a vaginal tear, i would really recommend using tpe glue. Personally i only use the soldering iron to reshape the tpe superficially like a finger poke or creases under the armpits for example.

Also, you're probably aware of this, but please wear adequate protection and do this in a well ventilated area to avoid inhaling the fumes!

:glou:

ZD

SynthetikReality95
Ex-Member

Post by SynthetikReality95 »

You didn't hold ends together long enough. 10 minutes.

Fantastic Plastic
Doll Elder
Doll Elder

Post by Fantastic Plastic »

Bubbles means moisture.
You need to dry and clean it out completely before melting it.
After melting it needs to remain completely still for as long as it can, preferably till it’s completely cool.