Starpery.com

Ms. Atleur Paint Advice

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
orchido

Ms. Atleur Paint Advice

Post by orchido »

I decided to freshen up a dolls lips with Ms. Atleur paint.

I'm not an artist, not even a painter. Last time I held a paint brush in my hand was years ago, painting a bathroom door, and I didn't like the results. So giving a doll new lips was a formidable challenge to me. This is my high anxiety story of beginning to learn how to use this new material.

I bought the TPE test piece for a $1. That's the best $1 investment value I've ever made. I practiced on it for a couple of days until I though I could do the lips. I should've practiced some more!

My first problem was about how to deal with over paint. I knew I would accidentally paint past the lip line so I turned to customer service for advice. According to them, there is no known solvent that will work on this paint once it's on TPE! Whoa! The only way to remove it is to wipe if off while it's wet, or wait until it dries and then rub it off. Fine, I tested painting and wiping it off with Q-tip. It leaves a very thin film of paint behind. You cannot really see it other than under 10X magnification. Not good enough for me. So I came to think of another solution. I covered an area with Vaseline and then painted over it. Again wiped it off with a Q-tip and this time there were no paint residue on the TPE. Problem solved.

Second problem. How to get an even coat of paint with one (or possibly 2) coats of paint? This paint is unlike anything I've ever encountered so far. It doesn't flow or behave like regular paint. I was not able to get an even layer of paint with brush strokes. Dabbing, a dab-dab-dab, just a little bit of paint at a time to the leading edge of a paint field finally produced an even coat. Problem solved.
2 coats of paint with applicator brush. Even worse than  my bathroom door.
2 coats of paint with applicator brush. Even worse than my bathroom door.