Starpery.com

Serious Armpit Repair..

Ding! POP! Crash! Thud! oops...let's get her all fixed up!
ClusterFunk
Contributing Poster
Contributing Poster

Serious Armpit Repair..

Post by ClusterFunk »

It's such a shame that after only 2 1/2 weeks of having Silviana (WM), she has this massive tear in her armpit. Well, it wasn't so massive until I took my heat gun to it (WHICH I SHOULD NOT HAVE DONE...), and now it's almost as deep as the skeleton joint. :cry:

Armpit tears are nothing I've had to deal with, and I have owned another WM for 2 years before Silviana. Seems like they changed the TPE blend, so it's ridiculously soft, and nowhere near as resilient as my first.

I should have known that the heat gun was a terrible idea to use on one of the potentially highest stressed areas, but I'm not going to give up on it.

Here's what I have on hand:

1. Heat Gun (w/ infrared thermometer gun)
2. Cheap soldering iron set w/ a few attachments
3. Available credit :|

I'm not a total newbie, but this accident makes me feel like one for sure.. What is the best course for me here?

ClusterFunk
Contributing Poster
Contributing Poster

Re: Serious Armpit Repair..

Post by ClusterFunk »

By the way, I'm going to store her in my guest room, arm all the way down (for obvious reasons) until we can reach a solution. I don't want to be one of those guys who sounds desperate, but I really want to see this through, even if the process takes me weeks to finish.

Arthur1960
Doll Visionary
Doll Visionary

Post by Arthur1960 »